

Published 8 June 2020 SP Paper 750 1st Report 2020 (Session 5)

#### Education and Skills Committee Comataidh Foghlam is Sgilean

# Annual Report 2019-2020

#### Published in Scotland by the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body.

All documents are available on the Scottish Parliament website at: http://www.parliament.scot/abouttheparliament/ 91279.aspx For information on the Scottish Parliament contact Public Information on: Telephone: 0131 348 5000 Textphone: 0800 092 7100 Email: sp.info@parliament.scot

© Parliamentary copyright. Scottish Parliament Corporate Body The Scottish Parliament's copyright policy can be found on the website www.parliament.scot \_\_\_\_\_1

## Contents

Contents			

Report \_\_\_\_\_1

Membership Changes \_\_\_\_\_1

### **Education and Skills Committee**

To consider and report on matters falling within the responsibility of the Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills.



http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/ education-committee.aspx



es.committee@parliament.scot



0131 348 5204

## **Committee Membership**



Convener Clare Adamson Scottish National Party



Deputy Convener Daniel Johnson Scottish Labour



Alasdair Allan Scottish National Party



lain Gray Scottish Labour



Jamie Greene Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party



Ross Greer Scottish Green Party



Jamie Halcro Johnston Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party



Rona Mackay Scottish National Party



Alex Neil Scottish National Party



Gail Ross Scottish National Party



**Beatrice Wishart** Scottish Liberal Democrats

## Contents

### Report

- 1. The Education and Skills Committee decided to produce the body of its annual report in a video format for the Parliamentary reporting year 12 May 2019 11 May 2020. This will be available on the Committee website in July 2020.
- 2. The Committee met 26 times in this Parliamentary year and considered agenda items in private 34 times at 25 meetings. The issues that were scrutinised by the Committee are detailed on the Committee's website .

This year, of 84 witness appearances before the Committee, 48% were male and 52% were female.

#### **Membership Changes**

#### 3. The following members left the Committee during this reporting period.

Johann Lamont MSP (Committee member 8 June 2016 to 10 September 2019)

Liz Smith MSP (Committee member 8 June 2016 to 25 February 2020)

Tavish Scott MSP (Committee member 8 June 2016 to 15 July 2019)

Oliver Mundell MSP (Committee member 27 June 2017 to 10 September 2019)

Jenny Gilruth MSP (Committee member 6 September 2018 to 25 February 2020)

Gordon MacDonald MSP (Committee member 24 May 2018 to 29 August 2019)

Alison Harris MSP (Committee member 10 September 2019 to 25 February 2020)

#### 4. The following members joined the Committee during this reporting period.

Gail Ross MSP from 29 August 2019

Beatrice Wishart MSP from 10 September 2019

Daniel Johnson MSP from 10 September 2019

Alex Neil MSP from 25 February 2020

Jamie Greene MSP from 25 February 2020

Jamie Halcro Johnston MSP from 25 February 2020

1

