

Social Security Committee Comataidh Tèarainteachd Sòisealta

Appointment of Members of the Poverty and Inequality Commission



$\label{lem:published} \textbf{Published in Scotland by the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body}.$

All documents are available on the Scottish Parliament website at: http://www.parliament.scot/abouttheparliament/ 91279.aspx For information on the Scottish Parliament contact Public Information on: Telephone: 0131 348 5000

Textphone: 0800 092 7100 Email: sp.info@parliament.scot

Contents

Introduction	1
Nomination	2
Conclusions	3

Social Security Committee

To consider and report on matters relating to social security (including the delivery and payment of benefits that help address poverty) falling within the responsibility of the Cabinet Secretary for Social Security and Older People.



http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/social-security-committee.aspx



SocialSecurityCommittee@parliament.scot



0131 348 5228

Committee Membership



Convener
Bob Doris
Scottish National Party



Deputy Convener Pauline McNeillScottish Labour



Alasdair Allan Scottish National Party



Jeremy Balfour Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party



Michelle Ballantyne Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party



Keith BrownScottish National Party



Mark Griffin Scottish Labour



Alison Johnstone Scottish Green Party



Shona RobisonScottish National Party

Introduction

- 1. The Child Poverty (Scotland) Act 2017 ("the Act") provided for the establishment of the Poverty and Inequality Commission.
- 2. A non-statutory body also known as the Poverty and Inequality Commission was established by the Scottish Ministers on 3 July 2017. When section 8 and the schedule of the Act come into force on 1 July 2019, the non-statutory body will cease, to be succeeded by the statutory Commission.
- 3. The Act requires that Scottish Ministers may appoint a person as a member of the Commission only if the Scottish Parliament has approved the appointment. This report concerns the appointment of members of the Commission.

Nomination

- 4. The process for appointment of members has been regulated by the Commissioner for Ethical Standards in Public Life in Scotland.
- 5. On 6 June 2019 the Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government wrote to the Committee setting out her nominations for members of the Commission. The eight nominees are.
 - Linda Bamford
 - Yvonne Blake
 - Alex Cobham
 - Lindsay Graham
 - Katie Schmuecker
 - Shona Stephen
 - · Morag Treanor
 - Douglas White
- 6. The letter was accompanied by information submitted by each of the nominees as part of the application process.
- 7. In advance of the Parliament being invited to approve the appointment, on 13 June 2019, three Members of the Committee (the Convener, Jeremy Balfour and Alison Johnstone) met with nominees in private to consider their suitability for appointment. One nominee, Shona Stephen, was unable to attend. Her suitability for appointment was assessed solely on the basis of the written material provided by the Scottish Government.
- 8. Following the private meeting, the three Members reported to the full Committee the matters discussed with nominees. Following discussion, the Committee agreed to recommend to the Parliament that it approve the Cabinet Secretary's nominations for appointment.

Conclusions

9. The Committee recommends that the Parliament approves the appointment of nominees for membership of the Poverty and Inequality Commission.

